| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
About Us

Who We Are

Active Scholarships

Contact Information

Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events

"śMy hope is that this is the start of something bigger happening in our community."
      - Dan Richardson

Founder Dan Richardson was right -- the tiny foundation he started has blossomed into an organization relied on by hundreds of families each year to help fund their scholar's education.

In 1965 the new organization awarded $11,360 to 20 students. That seed grew into what we are today, thanks to a generous community that believes in education. We hope new donors will join us and help a local young person realize their dreams of going to college.

Who We Are


Dan RichardsonScholarship Foundation of Indian River County is truly a grassroots effort. Dan Richardson and members of the Vero Beach Rotary Club gave birth to the concept of a locally-funded scholarship organization in 1964. Seeing a need for a dedicated effort, they partnered with Dollars for Scholars, a fledgling foundation headquartered in New England affiliated with Scholarship America. The national organization offered a guiding umbrella, but let local leaders set their own direction and keep the dollars they raised to benefit their own local scholars.


Through hard work, dedication and, most importantly, a very generous community, our organization grew into one of the largest Dollars for Scholars' chapters in the country, supporting over 150 students each year.


In 2013, Scholarship America imposed new centralized systems and process requirements for all Dollars for Scholars chapter that we felt would take away from our resources and core mission of supporting local students with local dollars. We disaffiliated from the national organization and changed our name to Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County.


Though our name changed, everything else remains the same. We have the same mission, same program, same board of directors and same dedicated volunteers that helped us be successful in the past. Over the past 52 years, we have awarded $11.2 million in need-based scholarships to 2,865 Indian River County students. Dan Richardson's family still actively supports Scholarship Foundation, and he himself is proud of its accomplishments, the lives it has changed and the futures it will continue to shape.


Our Mission


It is the mission of Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County to offer hope, encouragement, and scholarship opportunities to Indian River County students with financial need who demonstrate the desire and academic ability to succeed in pursuing a post-secondary education.


Our Scholarships


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County awards two, three and four year scholarships to students who are residents of Indian River County, meet academic requirements, demonstrate college readiness and financial need and complete applications by our deadlines. Since our funds are limited, we select the strongest applicants to receive awards. Scholarships range from $2,000 to $30,000. They are intended to help students close the gap between the cost of college and the funds available through other sources of financial aid and their family resources. Click for more information on applying for a Scholarship Foundation award or supporting Scholarship Foundation.


Contact Us

Executive Director:Camilla Wainright, director@SFIndianRiver.org
Office Manager: office@SFIndianRiver.org
Phone: 772-569-9869
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961
Office Location: 1555 Indian River Boulevard, Suite B-111, Vero Beach, FL
Driving Directions: Click for directions and map

Board of Directors

Directors Emeritus
Dan K. Richardson (1919-2014)
John J. Avril (1923-2005)
Darby Gibbons (1948-2009)
Peggy McReynolds (1930-2011)
Karen VanDeVoorde (1946-2014)

Honorary Directors
Samuel A. Block, 1973
Carol Fischman, 1984
Nancy Luther, 1990
Ann Marie McCrystal, 1980
Tomas Rene Perez, 1965

Joan Cook, 2011

Vice President
Bobby Sexton, 2011

Susan Chenault, 2011

J. Vincent Boyle, 2008

Past President
Kathryn Block Faires, 2006

Mark Ashdown, 1983
Laura Bass, 2012
Andy Beindorf, 2016
Robert Brackett, 2011
Troy Hafner, 1998
Mary R. Johnston, 1994
Gaye Ludwig, 2002
William Marine, 2012
Michael Mersky, 2009
Tyler Puttick, 2016
Jonathan Schwiering, 2012
Elizabeth Sorensen, 2016
Jonathan Sternberg, 2006
E. Michael Stutzke, 2001


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org